What You Should Know About Nevada’s Fault Insurance System

What You Should Know About Nevada’s Fault Insurance System

Driving in Nevada requires an understanding of the state’s fault insurance system. If a car accident and personal injuries occur, a Reno bad faith insurance attorney can investigate problems that may arise from inadequate insurance coverage.

What is Fault Insurance?

Like most states, Nevada follows a fault insurance system when it comes to determining liability in a car accident. This means that the driver who causes the accident is considered liable for any property damages or personal injuries that result from the accident. According to the Nevada Division of Insurance, all drivers in the state of Nevada are required to have insurance. Nevada drivers are required by law to have minimum insurance protection referred to as 15/30/10 coverage:

  • $15,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $30,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage

A driver can purchase more insurance protection than the minimum requirements including liability, collision and property damage coverage.

  • Liability – Liability coverage protects the party who’s found liable for the accident, but only pays for personal injuries and property damages caused to other parties. It does not provide coverage for the driver, passengers or personal property.
  • Collision – Collision insurance covers damage to a driver’s car, regardless of who is at fault. It provides payment to repair damages to the driver’s car.
  • Comprehensive – Comprehensive insurance protects against vehicle damage caused bu something other than a car accident like damages caused by fire, floods, high winds, vandalism and theft.

The auto insurance deductible must be met before an insurance company will pay on auto accidents and claims. Note that a deductible only applies to Collision and Comprehensive insurance coverage.

What to Do After a Car Accident

If a car accident occurs and the driver is not at fault, he/she has several options to recover damages. A driver can file a claim with his/her insurance company, file a claim with the negligent driver’s insurance company, or file a personal injury lawsuit with a Nevada attorney in a civil court. If a driver finds out that he/she is not properly covered by insurance, a Reno bad faith insurance attorney may be necessary to investigate the accident claim and handle legal negotiations for personal injuries. When purchasing car insurance, a driver should always verify that the insurance agent is properly licensed to conduct business in the State of Nevada.